PROJECTS

A-Circle-of-Ten: October 2017

I know it’s a little late to start my monthly challenge but hey, it’s still October anyway. For this month, I’ll give you a sneak peek of what my life is. Of course, by that, I meant showing you who composes my awesome circle. These people are the reason why I feel so loved and appreciated. Although, I am so blessed to have so many people in my life that continuously encourages me, these top ten groups of people are those who has always been with me in the past year. They are the ones who are literally a phone call away. I love them so much and yes, they deserve a post on this site.

 

The following are arranged randomly. I repeat, they are arranged randomly and are not based on how much I appreciate them.

Side note: These people hold a huge part in my heart. Things will change. It is inevitable. However, I would like to cherish my memories with these circle. In a year or so, we may not be as close as this but still, these memories are forever.

 

1-5. La Familia

These people are my main— my family. Without them, I wouldn’t be the kind of person I am today. They taught me what is right from what is wrong. They are my constants, my rock, my safe haven. And yes, we do fight… we often fight. But in the end, we are here for each other.

The Papa Bear: My dad means so much to me. He is my dentist, my doctor, my teacher, my hobby-buddy, our family pets’ veterinarian, my pastor, my zoologist, my photographer, my painter, my coach, and above all, he is my superhero. And I can tell you with all my heart, that I am his favorite child (note to my siblings: this is my blogsite, I can say what I want bwahaha *mic drop*). Kidding aside, my dad does wonders. Not all who knows him see it. He may come as a quiet, go-with-the-flow, stern guy who never gets affected by the things that are happening around him. But in reality, he is a funny, gentle, fun-seeking man who loves old music, chocolates, and words of appreciation from the people around him.

The Mama Bear: My mother is my ultimate best friend. I remember when I was young, my mom brought me to watch my first Filipino movie in the cinema just because it was about two best friends. Turns out, the movie was not appropriate for my age. But, oh well, at least I got to spend my time with her. Most people say that I am a split image of my mom. From my looks to my personality, it says Nory Trinidad all over. And even when my dad would oppose, I too, see the astonishing resemblance. We both love to travel. Sometimes, we would joke about leaving dad with my siblings and go to a different country to enjoy each other’s company. We would often talk for hours about the things that has been happening to usour daily devotion, our ministry, God’s faithfulness or anything under the sun. No one gets me like my mom does. She is my number one supporter, my critic, and my person.

The Sister Bear: I have a complicated relationship with my eldest sister. Since we were a child, we would always have a quarrel. I have never fought with anyone as often as with her. Perhaps, it is because of our age gap (which is just 4 years!). However, at the same time, she is my go-to person. She listens to every story I have to tell. We would often talk from night til dawn with the lights turned off and the only sounds heard are the wind coming from the air-condition. She knows me and I, too, know her. I am so proud to be her baby sister. And even when she does not see it, she is literally the most talented person I have met. From her passion for music to her skills in sketching and writing, people around her never fails to be amazed.

The Brother Bear: My brother is a man of  passion, will, and guts. Once he sets his mind on something, he will spend hours, weeks, days, to master it. Being such a charm, people would often express how he is the favorite. And I, personally, don’t mind. Kuya (Big Brother) can be such a pain at times but I know that deep in his heart, he cares for the family. There are times when our parents are gone for the weekend, and I feel him taking responsibility as the only guy in the house. He would low-key look after us. When we were young, my brother and I would literally wrestle until one of us are full of bruises. Well, that’s us for you. Today, we’re like Spongebob and Patrick, only a little less crazy.

The Baby Bear: From friends to clothes to face and looks, I have a lot of common with my sister. Ate Hazel (Big Sister) and I have only a year and a half age gap. Among my siblings, she is the one whom I am closest with. In high school, I used to tag-along with her and her friends on all their adventures and gala. Most her batchmates know me as, “Hazel’s little sister.” And it didn’t end there. In college, I still know her group of friends., although, her college friends and I are not as close as her high school friends. What’s great about us is that we would usually know what each one is thinking just by looking in the eyes. Yes, we’re that close. “Huy, may kwento ako.” (Hey, I have a story.) And, that would begin hours of gossip, embarrassing stories, and literally anything that happened to us during the day. On other occasions, we would watch movies and talk about tv series until one of us would fall asleep. Other times, we would try to fit each one in our schedule and spend hours walking around the university (or eating) when someone is down. I remember way back in high school, people who don’t know us personally would often ask, “Are you two twins?” And we would laugh, saying, “Yes, we are.” Sometimes, she would pretend to be me, answering questions that are meant for “Bea.” She’s the special gem in our family— the glue that sticks us together.

 

 

 

6-8.  The Happy Pills (Cousins)

In my worst and in my best, my cousins are there for me no matter what. Here’s to the people who would literally run a block just to check if I’m fine. When things get dark, my first line of defense are my happy pills. No judgement. No regrets. Just plain love and understanding. These people saw me from my childhood to youth. They witnessed what I’ve become and what I’ve experienced. They saw everything and still looked at me with love and pride.

To Ate Roni: I never thought that we would be this close. We are two different people bonded together by family. But now, I want you to know that you are my rock. You see in me what most people do not. You always know what to tell me. Last night, I called you crying, and you were there on the other line, listening, comforting me. Being with you makes my heart lighter. You take me on a blissand make me forget all my worries and fears. From the bottom of my heart, I love you. We’re the only ones who understand what each other is going through especially since we both carry our family’s name and the pressure that comes with it. I’m always here for you just as you are for me. Thank you for telling me what other people cannot say. You are honest, kind, and beautiful. Alam mo na yan! Cheers to more adventures with you!

To Kuya Nathan: To the one who’ll always have my back, thank you for teaching me that life is about creating stories that will make our future nieces and nephews say, “Someday, I want to be like tito and tita.” Time and time again, we prove that hangovers are temporary but memories are foreverYou make me feel safe and secure, showing us that whatever happens, you’ll unhesitatingly come to our aid without questions.

To the rest of the Munchkins: We moved on from fighting over who gets to come in the “cool” activities to who’ll get their heart broken next. We’re no longer the little ones. We’ve passed the crown onto the next generation. However, our big “problems” then turned into gigantic problems now. Despite our lives suddenly slapping us right on our faces, our relationship with each one still shines in the dark. We are our safety nets. Thank you for creating an environment where one mistake does not define who we are for the rest of our lives. We are in this together! I pray for more fruitful years with you!

 

 

9-10. Papa and Mama

They say that teachers are our second parents. I beg to differ. My Papa and Mama hold that place in my life. You see, when I was about a year old, my parents flew to United States and I was left with my mom’s brother and his wife. They treated me as if I was their very own child. And even when I grew up, they would call me as their first-born.

My Papa and Mama: I remember when I was young, you two used to come with me on my school fieldtrips and activities. You treated me as if I were your own despite me being so far away from you. And although both of you were not expressive with your feelings, you managed to expressed your love for me in ways no other people can. I have yet to show my appreciation but I want you both to know that from the innermost part of my heart, I love you. Thank you for going beyond just to show me how much you love me. Remember, I’ll always be proud to be called your first-born.

I can't find a picture of them with me, sorry!

 

Oh, I could name so much more people! Truly, I am loved. Just a quick roll call: Ninong Ric, Tito Nate&Tita Imy, my blockmates, and Zoofam. Oh no, I think I couldn’t name all of them but I want to thank everyone for helping me and loving me. They are always there for me.

Leave a comment